Striving for perfection

At Archisphere, the architecture and interior design studio in Vienna, all projects can be seen as the well-defined expression of a clear philosophy: together with the clients, using creativity and precision, it designs buildings and interiors that evoke emotions and recount a story. This is an expectation expressed from the onset in the name Archisphere - a symbiosis of architecture and atmosphere.

The studio's portfolio showcases the architects’ and interior designers’ constant pursuit of perfection, which they strive to fulfil in very distinctive projects. Their vast experience has been gained from working mainly in the luxury segment of the hotel and hospitality indus-tries, as well as in developing exclusive private residences. As the following examples will illustrate, our team combines their savoir-faire with exciting new approaches to bring forth the best possible solutions for the client.

archisphere hotel interior designer c phillip derganz

Culture-conscious elegance

The Andaz Vienna am Belvedere is a hotel in the luxury & lifestyle category. The hotel is sit-uated in one of Vienna’s hot spots, at the intersection between the ultra-modern Sonnwend district, the Schweizergarten park and the hotel’s namesake, the splendid baroque Palais Belvedere. Archisphere’s interior architects have achieved an impressive symmetry by complementing the spectacular building – by star architect Renzo Piano – with equally remarkable interior design. Using exclusive materials and a creative mix of styles, they were able to embed the building in the neighbourhood and establish its culturally conscious elegance.

The interior designers have used the hotel lobby, which opens onto the park, and its more than 300 rooms as a stage for contemporary art. The inspiration behind this creative design was Prince Eugene, the original owner of the Palais Belvedere and renowned patron of the arts. The Andaz am Belvedere is a prime example of how a carefully crafted interior design can both tell a story and advance a hotel to its iconic status in a surprisingly short period of time - including at the very top: "My absolute favourite view is from the sky bar, with the Belvedere in the foreground and Vienna's city centre behind it," says architect and managing partner of Archisphere Gabriel Kacerovsky. "It is best enjoyed at sunset with a drink and good friends."

Contemporary coolness

"A wonderful architecture that manages, with playful ease, to establish the fine balance be-tween contemporary coolness and almost universal warmth". These were the words with which the Relax Guide described the Falkensteiner Hotel Stegersbach in the thermal region of southern Burgenland, designed in 2005 by Archisphere’s architects and interior designers. The meticulous planning of the project was entirely devoted to the physical and mental well-being of the guests. What’s more, the design was devised with such foresight that twelve years later, carefully planned soft interventions were sufficient to reposition the resort in the present-day scene. The interior designers chose the element of water as a central metaphor for this oasis of regeneration and used colour psychology to select reposing tones of calm blue and warm sandstone, complemented with luminous gold for an emphasis on distinction. The designers’ creative decisions transformed the hotel’s rooms, dining and spa areas, while the lighting concept (from candlelight to LED lights, depending on the desired atmosphere) rounded off the gentle upgrade of the Falkensteiner resort, setting it apart in a category all on its own.
spa design resort stegersbach archisphere interior designer c claudio alessandri

The poetry of a summer retreat

At Lake Millstätter See, the architects and interior designers from Archisphere wrote the next chapter in a history rich in tradition. They integrated a vision for the future into Hotel Seeglück Forelle, the first hotel on the site: the poetry of a summer retreat where you can relax "like in the good old days" was to be preserved. At the same time, guests would be able to enjoy contemporary amenities regardless of the season, whether it's the lake or the snow sparkling in the sun outside. "Holidays are a story you experience and remember," says architect Carmen Dumitrescu, partner at Archisphere. "That's exactly the challenge Archisphere took on in redesigning the Hotel Seeglück Forelle on Lake Millstättersee."
The architects proposed to meet the guests’ discerning expectations with a new building where all the rooms have a view on the lake, and a spacious spa area. The interior designers, for their part, developed a contemporary yet timeless design using materials, colours, and themes intended to “bring the lake indoors” and remind guests of the proximity of the water. As such, the stones used in the bathrooms evoke the pebbles in the lake, which is further suggested by the fish motifs, all contributing to the guests’ overall experience of the hotel. 

These three examples illustrate well the miriad of projects in Archisphere’s vast portfolio which includes hotels, restaurants, international offices, and private residences. The studio's activities range from the careful renovation of traditional buildings to the implementation of innovative, cutting-edge approaches. "Our team of employees from seven nations will draw on their cultural and professional knowledge and use it for tasks of any scale”, concludes Gabriel Kacerovsky. This also contributes to the constant broadening of Archisphere’s horizon.

Streben nach Perfektion

Alle Projekte von Archisphere, dem Architektur- und Interior-Design-Studio mit Sitz in Wien, sind sichtbar gewordener Ausdruck einer klaren Philosophie: Das Studio setzt Kreativität und Präzision ein, um gemeinsam mit den Auftraggeber:innen Bauwerke und Interieurs zu schaffen, die Emotionen wecken und eine Geschichte erzählen. Der Anspruch steckt schon im Namen Archisphere – eine Symbiose aus Architektur und Atmosphäre.

Das Portfolio des Studios zeigt ein Streben nach Perfektion, das die Architekt:innen und Interior-Designer:innen in sehr unterschiedlichen Projekten realisieren. Überwiegend im Premiumsegment der Hotellerie und Hospitality und bei exklusiven Privatresidenzen sammeln sie Erfahrungen und verbinden sie mit spannenden neuen Lösungsansätzen. Einige Beispiele mögen dies veranschaulichen.

archisphere hotel innenarchitekt c phillip derganz

Kulturbewusste Eleganz

Das Andaz Vienna am Belvedere ist ein Hotel der Kategorie Luxury & Lifestyle. Es steht an einem Hot Spot der Stadt, im Schnittpunkt zwischen dem ultramodernen Sonnwend-Viertel, der Grünanlage Schweizergarten und dem barocken Prachtpalais, das dem Hotel den Beinamen gab. Die Innenarchitekt:innen von Archisphere haben den spektakulären Bau des Stararchitekten Renzo Piano durch ebenbürtiges Interior Design ergänzt. Mit hochwertigen Materialien und kreativem Stilmix haben sie eine kulturbewusste Eleganz etabliert und den Bau in die Nachbarschaft eingebettet.

In der sich zum Park öffnenden Lobby und in den mehr als 300 Zimmern haben die Interior Designer:innen zeitgenössische Kunst in Szene gesetzt. Dabei stand Prinz Eugen, der einstige Hausherr des Palais Belvedere und ebenfalls Kunstmäzen, gedanklich Pate. Das Andaz am Belvedere zeigt, wie gut durchdachte Innenarchitektur eine Geschichte präsentieren und wie ein Hotel erstaunlich schnell Kult werden kann – auch ganz hoch oben: „Mein absoluter Lieblingsblick ist von der Skybar mit dem Bevedere im Vordergrund und der Wiener Innenstadt dahinter“, sagt Architekt und Geschäftsführender Gesellschafter von Archisphere Gabriel Kacerovsky, „am Besten bei Sonnenuntergang mit einem Drink und guten Freunden.“

Kontemporäre Coolness

 Als „wunderbare Architektur, die den Spagat zwischen kontemporärer Coolness und geradezu universaler Wärme mit spielerischer Leichtigkeit absolviert“, beschrieb der Relax Guide das 2005 von den Architekt:innen und Interior Designer:innen von Archisphere entworfene Falkensteiner Hotel Stegersbach in der südburgenländischen Thermenregion. Die intelligente Planung war ganz auf das körperliche und geistige Wohlbefinden der Gäste ausgerichtet. Sie war so vorausschauend durchdacht, dass zwölf Jahre später behutsame Eingriffe genügten, um das Resort wieder vollends am Puls der Zeit zu positionieren. Die Innenarchtekt:innen wählten das Element Wasser als zentrale Metapher, ruhiges Blau und warme Sandsteintöne wählten sie dafür aus der Palette der Farbpsychologie, leuchtendes Gold betont die Wertigkeit dieser Oase der Entschleunigung.  Mit kreativen Entscheidungen transformierten die Interior Designer:innen die Zimmer des Hotels, die Gastronomie und den gesamten Spabereich zu einem Resort der Sonderklasse. Ihr Lichtkonzept – je nach der gewünschten Atmosphäre von Kerzenschein bis LED-Leuchten – rundet das sanfte Upgrade des Falkensteiner Resorts ab.
spa design resort stegersbach archisphere innenarchitekt c claudio alessandri

Die Poesie einer Sommerfrische

 Am Millstätter See schrieben die Architekt:innen und die Interior Designer:innen von Archisphere die nächsten Kapitel einer traditionsreichen Geschichte. Ins Hotel Seeglück Forelle, das erste Haus am Platz, integrierten sie eine zukunftsträchtige Vision: Die Poesie einer Sommerfrische, in der man ausspannen kann „wie in der guten alten Zeit“, sollte erhalten bleiben. Zugleich würden Gäste zeitgemäße Annehmlichkeiten unabhängig von der Saison genießen können, egal ob draußen der See oder der Schnee in der Sonne funkelt. „Urlaub ist eine Geschichte, die man erlebt und an die man sich erinnert“, sagt die Architektin Carmen Dumitrescu, Partnerin bei Archisphere. „Genau das ist die Herausforderung, der sich Archisphere bei der Neugestaltung des Hotels Seeglück Forelle am Millstättersee gestellt hat.“
Für die gehobenen Ansprüche der Gäste erweiterten die Architekt:innen das Hotel um einen Neubau, dessen Zimmer alle einen Ausblick zum See haben, und einen großzügigen Spabereich. Die Innenarchitekt:innen entwickelten dazu eine so zeitlose wie zeitgemäße Formensprache. Die verwendeten Materialien, die Farben- und Lichtnuancen tragen zum Erleben des Hotels, seines/r Restaurant/s(?) und der Zimmer bei. Die Gäste assoziieren die Nähe des Wassers; der in den Bädern verwendete Stein lässt an die Kieselsteine im See denken; dessen Nähe wird durch grafische Fisch-Motive zusätzlich unterstrichen. 

Diese drei Beispiele stehen für die Vielfalt an Projekten, die Archisphere realisiert hat. Weitere Hotels und Restaurants wären zu nennen, internationale Büros und private Villen. Von behutsamer Erneuerung traditioneller Bausubstanz bis zu radikal neuen Ansätzen reichen die Aktivitäten des Studios. „Unser Team von Mitarbeiter:innen aus sieben Nationen“, sagt Gabriel Kacerovsky, „kann auf eigenes kulturelles Wissen zurückgreifen und für Aufgabenstellungen jeder Größenordnung nutzen.“ Auch das trägt zum weiten Horizont bei, den Archisphere immer vor Augen hat.